Wesley, St. Benedict’s look for first outright win

The Morning Mails

Wesley, St. Benedict’s look for first outright win

The 3rd encounter between Wesley College Colombo and St. Benedict’s College Colombo for the James Cartman Trophy will be played on March 16 and 17 at the P. Sara Stadium. The two schools share a cricketing history of over 126 years, having first met on the cricket field in 1896, but it was only in 2021 that they began playing for the James Cartman Trophy. Following the two-day encounter, they will face off for the Rev.

Bro. Luke Gregory in a limited over encounter and with the matches in 2021 and 2022 not being played – effectively meaning a winner this year would be the first to get their hands on the respective trophies. The limited over trophy encounter will be played on March 25 at SSC Grounds, and will coincide with the Wesley Walk which will begin from the school premises. The two schools will also be playing each other for the second time this season having met in the knockout stage of the ongoing Under 19 inter-school cricket tournament, with the Benedictines coming away with a victory that move them forward into the semi-finals. Wesley will be led by fourth year player Linal Subasinghe who has been their top scorer this season with over 450 runs inclusive of six half tons to his credit from the few matches that they have played.

Apart from the skipper the other players from whom much will be expected are Sanithu Amarasinghe, Chamath Gomaz, Lakshan Sudarshana and Uvin Perera, an all-rounder who will lead the bowling attack with the support from Shakesh Minon, Ravindu Sigera and Sanithu Amarasinghe. St. Benedict’s will also be led by fourth year coloursman Chamath Chathurya who has yet to show his best. But the cynosure of all eyes will be on Sharujan Shanmuganathan who has scored over 900 runs inclusive of four half tons and two tons with a top score of 160 against St Servatius. They have another centurion in the side in Shenel Samaratunga who scored over 400 runs making four half tons and two tons, with Viduneth Wilson, Sheron Kannanagara, Mevan Dissamayake, Arshan Joseph and Vihara Aththanayake also key to the Bens’ success.

By M. Shamil Amit

Releated Posts